Missions

Standard

I never used to have a real mission-oriented mind or spirit. But lately, this has changed. I feel a pull in  my heart more and more to reach out to those in need and serve them in the Love of Christ. I feel the desire to heal their bodies with my nursing skills and their spirits with the hope of Life Eternal. Sometimes I want to travel to a third world country and serve people in areas where medical technology has not reached and the gospel of Christ is not well-known. Other times I want to stay in this country and serve those in need on our own soil.  All I know is that I want to serve. I want to make life a little more bearable for people, or to make dying a little less scary.

On that note, I will now tell you all that I got in the wheelbarrow. I applied to be a St. Joseph worker with the Sisters of St. Joseph in St. Paul. If accepted to this program I will spend a year, starting in August, volunteering full-time with an organization in the Twin Cities that serves people in need, such as uninsured immigrants or victims of abuse. It means putting off  my nursing career for a year which is why I was hesitant to apply, but it will teach me so much that I can use in my future career that I know it will be worth it. And I trust that God will provide for me as I give the next year fully to him and his work. This is the first time I’ve taken a real leap of faith that required full dependence on the Lord. It’s scary, but surprisingly peaceful at the same time. The more I think about it, the more excited I am about the possibility of serving the Lord in this way. I’ll let you all know when I find out if I’m accepted or not.

Peace and blessings!

2 thoughts on “Missions

  1. St. Gianna discerned about joining her brother as a medical misisonary in Brazil so it’s not surprising that you who model yourself after her would be thinking about it too. There are so many options open to nurses these days. As a veteran RN, may I offer a bit of advice…..leave your career/nursing aspirations in the hands of St. Camillus de Lellis and St. Gianna. Listen with your heart, discern thoughtfully with the help of an adviser or spiritual director and the Lord will use your nursing skills where He wants. God bless. The world needs good faithful nurses.

  2. I think this is an excellent decision to allow your talents to be used for the service of others, and whatever grace the experience gives back to you in return is just the exceptional cherry on top. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

