What’s in your basket?

Standard

I have a practice of opening to a random passage in the Bible while in adoration and then seeing what God wants me to learn from that passage. Today, I opened to Zechariah 5:5-11.

The angel appeared again and said, “Look! Something else is coming!”

“What is it?” I asked. He replied,

“It is a basket, and it stands for the sin of the whole land.”

The basket had a lid made of lead. As I watched, the lid was raised, and there in the basket sat a woman! The angel said, “This represents wickedness.” Then he pushed her down into the basket and put the lid back down. I looked up and saw two women flying toward me with powerful wings like those of a stork. They picked up the basket and flew off with it.

I asked the angel, “Where are they taking it?”

He answered, “To Babylonia, where they will build a temple for it. When the temple is finished, the basket will be placed there to be worshiped.”

At first I was like, “Lord, I have no idea what you want me to do with this.” And he told me to be patient.

So I thought some more and I got to thinking about what I might find in my basket. If the Lord were to send me a vision of a basket that represented my sins, what would I find inside?

I might find a man to represent my sometimes overzealous desire for a relationship,  to represent my faulty idea that a relationship will fulfill me. I might find a mirror to represent my vanity or pride. I might find textbooks to represent the fact that I often put my education at a higher priority than my relationship with Christ. I might find a laptop open to my Facebook page to represent my distraction and my need to be liked by others, sometimes even to the extent of not openly sharing my beliefs.

I had asked the Lord this morning to help me begin to identify my sins so that I can address them. And I realized that this is an excellent exercise of the mind to do just that. I’m amazed by how quickly the Lord answered that prayer. If I know what is in my basket, I can avoid building a temple around it and worshiping it. I can put things back in perspective and make sure that God is the priority in my life, and these other things, which are not inherently  bad, will stay in second place.

What things might you find in your basket?

Leave a Reply

