Lenten Sacrifices, Dating Fasts, and retreats

Standard

I officially decided what I’m doing for Lent this year. I will be getting up at 6 am everyday and using that extra time for personal prayer. I hope to sometimes go on a rosary walk. Along with that, I’m going to be more intentional about praying for others. So I’ve asked many of my friends if they have anything they want me to pray for. If any of you readers have anything, feel free to let me know in the comments! I’m also limiting my Facebook time to 30 minutes once a day, probably around dinnertime. I think this is going to be a Lent full of spiritual growth and I can’t wait for it to get started.

While not specifically for Lent, I’m also going on a dating fast. It’s not like I’ve dated a lot, I’d say I’ve been on an unintentional fast for pretty much my entire 21 years of life, but I do have an unfortunate tendency to “mentally date.” I imagine what it would be like if this or that guy asked me out and before I know it, in my head we’re dating. It’s really dumb and immature. I’ve also been dealing with some old emotional stuff recently and I need to sort through all that before I date anyone. And I’m not entirely sure if God is calling me to marriage, which is kind of the point of dating. So, from now until graduation (and maybe longer if God tells me to keep going), I will be fasting from dating. It’s something that I’ve toyed with for over a month now, but last night at a talk about love, sex, and dating the idea was mentioned again and it was just the push I needed. I need this time to focus on becoming the person God wants me to be and to begin truly discerning what vocation God is calling me to. It will help me to learn to love the opposite sex as my brothers in Christ rather than viewing them as potential future spouses. Even if the guy of my dreams comes along between now and May 17th and asks me out, I will say no. It will not be easy, but most of the time saying yes to God isn’t easy. But it’s always worth it.

Going along with discernment, I’m participating in a busy person’s retreat at my parish. I’ll spend 30 minutes each week talking to a spiritual director and then 30 minutes of personal prayer. I’ve never had a spiritual director before so I’m really excited to see what it’s like. I think this will be a good way to get my feet wet in that area of my spiritual life.

With all of this going on it makes me really excited for the next 3  months and especially the next 5 weeks.

Peace and blessings!

Leave a Reply

