Catholic Gentlemen

Standard

I am so happy to be able to say that the young Catholic men I know are such gentlemen! Last night SPO (one of our Catholic student groups) hosted a hog roast at the men’s house. It was the finale to their awesome week of welcome back to school festivities. The party (not in the typical college sense of the word) went well past nightfall and I live way on the other side of campus from the men’s  house. It’s at least a half an hour walk. But the men made sure that us women (there were several who had to go in my direction) were taken care of. One guy who lives out that way volunteered to walk us home. And then another young man felt more comfortable if more guys were with us, so he volunteered, even though he lives in the men’s house and had no reason to go that way. He told us that the guys tend to worry when us ladies head out on our own after dark. A lot people might be offended and think that these guys just think we’re damsels in distress and can’t take care of ourselves. But I find their concern and desire to keep us safe endearing. Let’s face it. There are a lot of crazies in the world and they come out in droves near my campus after 10p, especially in the neighborhood of the men’s house. A group of young women walking alone at night is exactly the kind of target they’re looking for. And it may not matter if you think you can take care of yourself, these people may be able to overpower you anyway. So I appreciate the fact that they want to see us home safely.

I think the best part of the night was that after we dropped the other ladies at their places and the guy who lives near us headed down the street to his apartment, I told the remaining guy that I was only a few blocks from my house and that I thought I’d be fine the rest of the way. I live on the safer side of campus and the last few blocks never really freak me out. But he really wanted to make sure that I got there ok, so he walked me the rest of the way. Of course this meant he had to head back to his house at 11:30 by himself which made me nervous. The care and concern of these young men is so touching, and I don’t think it’s something I’ve ever experienced in the last 21 years of my life. So ladies reading this, don’t despair. The species of the human gentleman does still exist. You just have to know where to look. Peace and blessings!

4 thoughts on “Catholic Gentlemen

  1. This is the type of men I hope my sons grow up to be. Men should never be made to feel ashamed of being concerned over the safety of women, and women shouldn’t be made to feel embarrassed or to bristle at their concern. Real men and women understand that there are essential differences to the sexes that do not make on superior to the other but that should be respected as honest facts.

    • I’ve definitely started to learn that it’s ok for guys to look out for you. It doesn’t necessarily mean that they think you are weak. I love accepting their gentlemanly gestures. It’s equally important for a lady to accept gestures, otherwise I fear the young men will be discouraged and stop offering them. One of the guys also offered one of the girls his sweatshirt because it was chilly on our walk back. That’s something most guys only do for their girlfriend (or a girl they’re interested in) so it was so refreshing to see these gestures offered to us without having to wonder what the motives might be. I’m glad that you are raising your boys to be these kinds of men.

Leave a Reply

