Why do I Share my Story?

Standard

I love sharing my story. I hope that by doing so, I can reach people who are on the fence about Catholicism and bring God glory by showing them the beauty of Christ’s Church. But lately I’ve wondered if that is my only motivation. I find myself checking my blog stats often and sometimes feeling a little bummed when I don’t have as many views as I thought I might. I try to tell myself that it’s just because I was hoping I could reach more people, but part of me thinks that it might be because I want my name to be known. I want followers. Recently, I’ve been getting requests from multiple sources outside of my blog to share my story with their followers/viewers/listeners as well. While I want to help more people find the Catholic Church, I fear that I am in danger of wanting to be “famous,” having my name known in the Catholic world. But that is not why I started sharing my story and that is not where I want to end up. I’m going to have to think and pray more carefully from now on before accepting these outside offers to share. I only want to do this for God’s glory, not my own.

2 thoughts on “Why do I Share my Story?

  1. The fact that you’re aware of the tug of blogdom, pray about it and are cautious of how it affects you means that your heart is in the right place 🙂 Whether people randomly stumble upon your blog (like me) and find something to relate to (yay, fellow Catholic Young Adult Minneapolis-ite!), you’ll touch more people than you know.

  2. Vivien,
    Thanks for sharing your story. While it is definitely used for good within the Lord’s kingdom, there is the fact that the enemy will try and use it for vanity and vain glory. It’s a battle we all face and I’ve fought it too. Keep in prayer and as the previous poster mentioned above, you’ll touch numerous people that you’ll never meet or know about. Occasionally, one person might send you a note of thanks. I too started a blog and later on was featured on Why I’m Catholic. It took much prayer and persistence to put my story out there, but I had to lay it down in God’s hands as to what he would do with it. God Bless you in your journey.

Leave a Reply

