Temporary Home

Standard

I went for a walk today and as usual I ended up spending a chunk of time gazing at the Minneapolis skyline.

I’m always talking about how I can’t wait to move south where it’s warmer, but as I looked out over the river at the city I realized that I might be all talk. Minneapolis has started to feel like home to me. I’ve lived here for 3 years now. It’s where my parents both grew up. It’s where my grandparents are buried. It’s where I’ve learned what it means to be a nurse. It’s where I’ve made so many friends. It’s where I found the beauty of the Catholic Church. It’s where I’ve become comfortable. As I thought about all of this, I thought how hard it would actually be to leave Minneapolis, to not see the skyline, that has come to remind me of so many things, on a daily basis.

But as I thought about all of this one thought, that didn’t fit with the rest, popped into my head, placed there by the Holy Spirit. It said, “this is not your home.” I realized that that didn’t just mean Minneapolis. This reminder was not to say that I belong in a different city; that some place in the South will be my home. Even if I move there and live in one place the rest of my life, it will not be home. I was reminded that Earth is not my home. My home is in Heaven waiting for the day that I get to arrive and live with my Lord, Jesus Christ.

I was coming back to the city tonight after a trip to my parents’ house and as I watched the skyline approach, I thought again how hard it would be to leave, but again the Spirit spoke to me and said, “I never said it would be easy.” Of course it won’t be easy to someday leave this city that I have become so fond of, but these little reminders will make it a little more bearable if that time comes. Knowing that there is so much waiting for me will make it that much easier for me to follow God to wherever He wants my temporary home to be. I look forward to finding out where that is in a year, after I graduate.

Leave a Reply

