First Confession

Standard

I went to my first confession today so that I thought I’d re-blog a post I did way back in October on that topic. It all rings so true now that I’ve experienced it. I feel completely freed from the sins I confessed because I finally voiced them out loud to another person. And of course, most importantly, because I heard Christ himself forgive me through the words of the priest. Oh what I missed out on for the past 21 years of my life. 5 mores days! Hallelujah!

The Heart of St. Gianna

“Jesus said to them again, ‘Peace to you! As the Father has sent Me, so I also send you.’ After saying this, He breathed on them and said, ‘Receive the Holy Spirit. If you forgive the sins of any, they are forgiven them; If you retain the sins of any, they are retained.'” John 20:21-23

Today in RCIA, we talked about confession. As a Protestant, this was one of the doctrines I had a major issue with. How dare a priest think that he had any right to forgive my sins! That is for God alone to decide! But from the verse above it is clear that Christ Himself gave other people the power to do that exact thing. He gave those 12 men the right to forgive and retain the sins of Jesus’ followers.

Many Protestants would argue that He was only talking to the 12 apostles that He…

View original post 584 more words

2 thoughts on “First Confession

  1. I don’t mean for this to sound like I’m rude, but I’m curious how long confession took. I didn’t have to make a confession before the Easter Vigil because I hadn’t been baptized, so all the sins of my life were remitted during the Mass. How long does a confession take when you have to confess everything since your baptism?

    • Well, first Father Mark said that we could generalize eras of our lives which helped cut it down a little. And my confession was actually a little rushed because the priest had only 45 minutes to get through a line of 20+ people. I was probably only in there for a couple of minutes.

Leave a Reply

