Daydream Believer

Standard

I found out that my first childhood celebrity crush died today. Davy Jones, from the Monkees passed away at 66 from a heart attack.  Growing up my mom listened to the Monkees pretty much non-stop (an exaggeration, but only slightly). We watched reruns of their show on a regular basis and as a result, I was a six year old with a crush on a 19 year old heart throb from the 60s. I dreamed of marrying him someday when I was the same age as him. Let’s just say I did not understand that as I got older, so did he, not to mention that I was crushing on the young Davy Jones from 1966 and didn’t realize for a long time that he was some 50 years my elder. The fact that I met him and got on stage at a Monkees reunion concert did not help curb this dream. But anyway, even though the crush has long since faded, I was saddened by the news of his passing. A small part of my childhood has left this world and moved on to the next one. I just pray that he will get to spend his eternity in God’s presence. Perhaps I’ll dedicate my rosary tonight to his soul, and the souls of others who have recently passed.

Who wouldn't crush on this adorable Brit?

*UPDATE I found this picture of me on stage when I met him. I was so excited

One thought on “Daydream Believer

Leave a Reply

