Let’s Get Physical!

Standard

I learned something about myself today. I am not a runner. I used to be a runner, but I’m not anymore. My roommate, who is also a nursing student, has organized a fitness group on Sunday afternoons so we can all “practice what we preach.”

We met for the first time today and 3 of us decided to run 1 mile and then bike. I couldn’t even make it the 1 mile. Hard to believe that I used to run track! But I did learn that I AM a biker. We went for 8.5 miles and I loved it! I didn’t enjoy the hills so much but the rest of was great! And I loved the way my legs felt like jelly after we got back. I could tell that I had just had a good work out. I’m going to be super sad when winter comes and the bike trails are unusable. But we’ll work something out.

I think this is going to be a great way to get back in shape. Maybe I’ll become a runner again by the end of the year, but all that really matters is that I take care of this one body that the Lord gave me. If I lose everything else, I will always have this body so I should take care of it And I don’t want to become that hypocritical  nurse who is obese and telling others to lose weight (not that I’m obese, but I could be if I just sit around).

One of the group members made this after our outing today!

Leave a Reply

