pleasing God and not men

Standard

I decided that it’s time for me to share my story and the things that God is showing me. This blog will share my thoughts about events in my life and will try to, when necessary, defend my new Catholic faith.

After my recent decision to become Catholic I’ve met resistance and objections from many of my Protestant friends. At first, I felt like I was doing something wrong, like I should turn around and remain Protestant. It was difficult to make this change in my life without the support of many of my friends from recent years.

Some of these relationships have become strained. They are nothing like what they were and part of me wants to just make everyone else happy so that things can go back to the way they were. It makes me sad to know that some of these friendships will never quite be the same again. They were based on our common Protestant faith, and that commonality is gone now. It will be hard to know they do not approve my path. But then God reminded me of something key in my journey with Him.

“Am I now trying to win the approval of men, or of God?” Or am I trying to please men? If I were still trying to please men, I would not be a servant of Christ.” Galatians 1:10

I have come to the realization that it doesn’t matter if everyone else understands or supports my decision. It doesn’t matter if my decision worries or hurts others (though hopefully it doesn’t hurt anyone). All that matters is that God has shown me the Truth and has begun to lead me down a new path. I need to follow Him, and not “men.” I am unbelievably happy with my decision and have found a peace that I have not known until now. There is no going back now.

Leave a Reply

